Yessica's Journey Blog

Welcome to the Yessica's Journey Blog Site, a Journey through Mental Health, Wellbeing and Creativity.

Yessica’s Journey Update

Leave a comment

Well what a year it has been for Yessica’s Journey. It has been very hard work but well worth it. I have met so many wonderful people through this project and I would like to say a special thanks to all of you. I consider myself very lucky to have been given this opportunity.

2011 saw the completion of the second version of the script, this has taken a huge amount of time to do and get right and has been one of the hardest things I have ever done because of the personal nature of it and I was not feeling well. We completed the voiceover recording of the dialogue in July which was probably one of the most fun parts of the project to do, I laughed so much and enjoyed every moment of it. It was also very emotional to finally hear all the words come to life when spoken. We completed the design and construction of the set for the stop motion animation, another very emotional moment for me when I finally saw the amazing set which David had constructed and to see all my ideas and designs finally come to life. The set table is completed to animate on and the preparation for the studio room where the animation will be shot. We also have a fantastic temporary flash website which has proved very useful during the project. And who would have thought I would get better, that really is the icing on the cake. I do believe this project has helped me to get well, creativity is such a wonderful way to use your mind, the hardest part now is to stay well, that really is a challenge. I am sure with the support and help of others and my determination, strength and tenacious attitude I will continue to stay well and make this project successful.

Well those are just a few things to mention and I am looking forward to a great year ahead where I can concentrate more on the creative artistic side of the project. I have just completed the storyboard for the cut-out part of the animation and I will be continuing to create and finish off the puppets for the stop motion part. I am very excited to have 2 new armatures to work with. I will be spending the next few months concentrating on this as well as doing many illustrations and an Animatic.

It is anticipated that the animation will take a further 3 years to complete and we have just put in an application form to try and apply for additional funding so fingers crossed. We are also planning to hold a Yessica’s Journey meeting soon at Hellesdon Hospital (Norfolk and Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust) with the organisations involved in funding the project which I am looking forward to (apologies for the cancellation of the last one which was due to be held at Mind).

Thank you again to everyone who has helped and supported me throughout my journey.

Author: Anastacia

I am a freelance Animator and Illustrator. I am a Director/Producer and Animator of the Yessica's Journey Animation Project

Leave a Reply

