Yessica's Journey Blog

Welcome to the Yessica's Journey Blog Site, a Journey through Mental Health, Wellbeing and Creativity.

New Cat Armature Completed

Leave a comment

JOHN WRIGHT MODELMAKING WEBSITE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

Here is the new armature for the cat character. He is a ball and socket armature and was made by John Wright Modelmaking. I sent my design of a cat and also made up a plastercene model to get the right size and proportions. It was quite hard as I had to go slightly bigger for the cat or it would have been hard to animate and also impossible to make. It had to look right beside Yessica who has a small body. The armature is constructed very well and I highly recommend this company for armatures. The quality and craftsmanship is outstanding.

© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

The armature has ball and socket type joints which can be manipulated and loosened or tightened with an allan key. The paws have holes drilled in them so I can use tie downs to animate it walking or magnets. He also has a head and jaw which can be manipulated. I am not sure how I am covering him but I will think of something eventually.

© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

There is also a tube attached to his body so that I can use a rig. A rig is used for instance if the character needs to fly through the air. It holds it in position and then the rig is deleted in post production. I have never animated a cat before, but I like a challenge and most things I attempt I have no idea what I am doing half the time and just learn as I go along by experimentation and trial and error. Sometimes you have to push yourself a little, take a few risks and face the fear, most of the time it works out fine and even if it doesn’t, well, does it really matter.

© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

Here are Cat and Magician armatures to show scale.

Blog and more pictures of Magician armature in previous blog.

Author: Anastacia

I am a freelance Animator and Illustrator. I am a Director/Producer and Animator of the Yessica's Journey Animation Project

Leave a Reply

