Yessica's Journey Blog

Welcome to the Yessica's Journey Blog Site, a Journey through Mental Health, Wellbeing and Creativity.

New Magician Armature

Leave a comment

John Wright Modelmaking Website

Here is the new armature for the Magician character. The armature is a ball and socket type and was designed by John Wright Modelmaking. I sent them my design for the character and the old armature (which proved unsuitable) and part of his outfit. They were able to match the same proportions. This armature is excellent quality and will be more durable and longer lasting which is crucial in a short film of around 14mins. It is well designed and constructed and I would highly recommend this company. The craftsmanship of the armature is just so good and each joint can be manipulated with an alan key. Sometimes it is worth spending extra money for quality, it saves you a lot of time and less tears in the end. This is something I have always tried to strive towards for this animation. I am a bit of a perfectionist but sometimes I think that is a good thing when you set your standards high as long as they are achieveable.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

These images show the old armature with the new one. The old one was bought by someone else who was originally going to make a puppet for me. Unfortunately it proved totally unsuitable for what I needed. Originally it was bought for Yessica but it was obvious it would be too big for her tiny frame so rather than waste money I decided to use it for the other character. I spent ages making it up as it came in a kit form but the joints kept breaking. After reglueing quite a few times I gave up.

It was not stable and would have been a nightmare to animate with. John Wright Modelmaking were able to take the foam off that I had already stuck on and recreate similar proportions for the new one. I had already started to make clothes for him so it was important for them to fit. This armature was a lot more money but well worth it. This is the same company which made Yessica’s armature.

Author: Anastacia

I am a freelance Animator and Illustrator. I am a Director/Producer and Animator of the Yessica's Journey Animation Project

Leave a Reply

