Yessica's Journey Blog

Welcome to the Yessica's Journey Blog Site, a Journey through Mental Health, Wellbeing and Creativity.

Magician Armature

Leave a comment

Armature for Magician Puppet

© Copyright 2011 Anastacia Tohill and Andy Simmons of Animation Supplies. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text. Drawing of armature in picture above was created by Animation Supplies except for head.

Animation Supplies Website

The armature kit was bought by the person who was originally going to make the puppet for Yessica. When I got the ProPlus Armature kit it was obvious it would never work for the small frame of Yessica. Unfortunately the joints were far too big for her tiny frame. I decided it would be fine for the Magician character and felt it would be too late really to send back to the company.

I still needed to adapt the overall size and proportions of the armature from their drawing (as seen in above image), which is supplied by Animation Supplies. I found the easiest way to do this was in Photoshop. I scanned the drawing of the armature from the one supplied by animation supplies in to the computer and then adjusted the drawing to fit the Magician character in Photoshop. It took a bit of time, but it was worth it and made the drawing very accurate as I did not have to alter the joints. As you can see from the image above the Magician is shorter.

The kit comes complete with all parts needed to make an armature. It has rods to cut for the limbs and ball and socket joints, special glue and screws. Unfortunately the plastic tubing supplied was not enough so I had to order some more, but it was very reasonable, so I ended up ordering different sizes in case I need some more for other projects in the future. The tubing is a fantastic idea and is used to protect the wire on the fingers of the hand. Brilliant idea. You heat the tubing with a heat gun and it shrinks to fit the wire. I am really impressed with this and I wish I knew about it when I made my puppets at college with wire and wood. The kit is very reasonably priced. You have to make the armature yourself.

Author: Anastacia

I am a freelance Animator and Illustrator. I am a Director/Producer and Animator of the Yessica's Journey Animation Project

Leave a Reply

