Yessica's Journey Blog

Welcome to the Yessica's Journey Blog Site, a Journey through Mental Health, Wellbeing and Creativity.

Metal Perforated Floor for Set

Leave a comment

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

© Copyright 2011 Anastacia Tohill. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text.

The making of a perforated metal sheet

© Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Please do not copy or download images/text. Image supplied by Doug Grant.

I ordered a large perforated mild metal Sheet from Bridgewater Filters Limited. It was important to get the right hole size and number of holes, its quite complex. The metal needs to be the right sort as I am using magnets as well as tie downs to animate the puppets. The metal sheet will go under the set. I would also like to thank Doug for all his help and advice.

I had no idea about flooring for sets and its very hard to find out through the internet and books. At college we did not go into this much detail and I never made a set. I had used magnets before on a puppet walk which was a disaster. I used a solid sheet of metal. You should also avoid putting magnets in the feet of the puppet.

I would also like to thank the following people for their help, advice and support. Sara Mullock who is a producer at Mackinnon and Saunders and her staff and John Wright at John Wright Modelmaking. They both gave me loads of really good advice about floors on sets, metal flooring, magnets and tie downs using puppets.

Author: Anastacia

I am a freelance Animator and Illustrator. I am a Director/Producer and Animator of the Yessica's Journey Animation Project

Leave a Reply

