Yessica's Journey Blog

Welcome to the Yessica's Journey Blog Site, a Journey through Mental Health, Wellbeing and Creativity.

Successful Audition Day at Mind

Leave a comment

The auditions were organised by myself and Oz. I found the whole process really enjoyable and interesting and I was overwhelmed with the response to the adverts. We had over 100 people apply for the roles of the Magician and Yessica, which is incredible, it was a huge success. It was very hard making decisions, there are so many talented people out there. We narrowed the list of applicants down to 30, who sent in samples of their voice reading from a section of the script. We then selected 12 applicants from this list. 7 Magicians and 5 Yessicas. Myself, Oz and Jane made the selections. We mainly had applicants from Norfolk and London.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The applicants had a choice as to whether they would like to attend audition at Mind or by sending in a sample. This was mainly to make it fair to everyone as some people from London were unable to make the audition and we felt it was a long way to travel for half an hour. We held auditions at the Norwich and Central Norfolk Mind organisation on Friday. Despite the bad weather, snow everywhere, we still had 5 people who came for interview. I would like to thank all of those people for making it through the snow and attending. It was lovely to meet people and I was really impressed by their confidence and talent. From the small sample of script that we gave them to read, they totally understood what Yessica’s Journey is about. I asked them to read the sample script again and also asked everyone to bring a sample of their choice, something which was relevant to the subject. I found this really interesting as their choice was excellent.

We recorded some footage of the event which we may choose to use on the website and possibly in the ‘Making of Yessica’s Journey’ Film. I also got to use my new gadget, a H4n Handy Recorder. Managed to record all the audition voices so I can play them at home and listen to them before making the final choice.

The other 7 people are sending in samples of their voice and also sending in something they have choosen themselves by email.  I am looking forward to listening to them all next week and making the final decision. This is going to be really hard as there are so many good people to choose from.

I would like to thank everyone at Mind for letting us use their organisation to host the event and especially Peter Gianfrancesco who is the Chief Executive of Norwich and Central Norfolk Mind for his support. I would also like to thank all the people who applied to the adverts and showed an interest in the project. I would like to thank everyone who took the time and trouble to send in samples of their voice, I was overwhelmed with the talent and professionalism of all the applicants and I would like to wish all of you continued success for the future.

Thank you and Happy Christmas.

Author: Anastacia

I am a freelance Animator and Illustrator. I am a Director/Producer and Animator of the Yessica's Journey Animation Project

Leave a Reply

